I’m Baaack!

Undiscovered by Dellani Oakes - 500I haven’t posted here in ages. I’m sure most of you have forgotten this page even exists. Honestly, I mostly had myself. I hate to see it neglected, so I decided to share some excerpts like I do on a couple of other sites. The idea for Character Quotes came from my good friend, Jd Holiday.

For my first Character Quote, I’m drawing on one of my romantic suspense novels, Undiscovered. Conner Griswald, the brother of famous movie mogul, Kent Griswald, has been shot on Daytona Beach. Cadence Stewart is the only witness to the perpetrator’s precipitous exit from her condo building.

Beach Patrol officers cleared the crowd and Cadence glimpsed someone lying spread-eagle on the sand, a blaze of red on his chest. Hearing sirens outside, she tore herself away and hurried downstairs. Two uniformed officers arrived in the lobby just as she got off the elevator. Cadence approached, identifying herself. The officers went with her to the fourth floor.

“He ran down the stairs?” The first officer asked.

“Yes. He was in the apartment I was showing. He ran along the corridor and into the stairwell.”

“We’ll need to dust it for prints,” the second officer said, then spoke into his radio.

“I doubt you’ll find anything. He was wearing gloves.”

“You could tell from a distance?” The second officer sounded skeptical.

“He was only a few yards away. Besides, they were black. He also had on a black ski mask.”

“Way to be inconspicuous,” the first officer said with a smirk.

© 2017 Dellani Oakes

To Buy Dellani’s Books 

For More About Dellani

One thought on “I’m Baaack!

Leave a Reply

