JOURNALLING FOR CREATIVITY BY KAREN VAUGHAN

Sometimes when I am suffering from the dreaded WB I journal. I have a book of journaling sparks to get me started.

Easy things to start with are:

  • talk about your day–find something funny that happened to you, your spouse or a pet.
  • pet peeves
  • rant about current events or a neighbour
  • write poetry if you are so inclined
  • count your blessings or create a silver linings playbook of your own
  • gratitude journal

This topic was inspired by a Mood disorder group meeting we had about Journaling. It was done for different reasons but it made me think-It does happen occasionally-about how  Journaling can motivate us to work on the bigger projects as well as cure WB.

I write comedy in mine and blogging for write minds and other groups. This keeps me fresh for novel writing.

http://www.writingsparks.com- a place to get prompts for creative writing.

http://www.gather.com -I belong to writing essentials where daily editors give assigments on a given theme. It trains me to focus and not go off on a tangent.  e.g.pet peeves was today’s assignment.

There are no set rules to journaling; just use your own personal style.

 

2 thoughts on “JOURNALLING FOR CREATIVITY BY KAREN VAUGHAN

  1. Pingback: JOURNALLING FOR CREATIVITY BY KAREN VAUGHAN | Cereal Authors

  2. As part of my Language Arts classes when I was teaching middle and high school, I had students keep a daily journal. The first five minutes of class was spent writing in their journals, and I would occasionally read and comment in them. It was an important part of their grade, but more than that, it got their minds focused on what we would be doing for the rest of the class period. Sometimes I was a bit shocked by what they revealed in their journals, but for the most part, it was just fun to see how they reacted to the daily journal prompts.

Leave a Reply

