Why do any of us write?-Karen Vaughan

Are we looking for glory with hopes of finding our books in the stacks at a Big name book store? Okay for some that might be a possible outcome. When I started writing it was a means of keeping myself entertained. I was bored a lot of the time and my imagination ran away with me. The psychiatric meds were also having their way with my brain so who knew what was going to end up on paper.  Being on stress leave and staring at the four grey walls and yes they were grey wasn’t helping me any.  I took a weird dream I had and committed myself to writing it down and low and behold DEAD ON ARRIVAL took shape. 

I am one of those people who can’t just do one story at a time.  I was three quarters finished DOA when I got another idea for another story involving payoffs and scandal called Dirty Deeds. It’s currently sitting in my dead story pile. It ran out of steam so I just let it go. Right after I came up with an avenging angel story called Bitchin’ mondays where each person in a group of four  had a homicidal fantasy about some one who they thought had it coming to them.  Things get complicated when the proposed victims turn up dead. This is also in my dormant file. 

By this time DOA had been published and people wanted more Laura but I had the DEAD COMIC STANDING project on the go followed quickly by OVER HER DEAD BODY the promised installment that was starting to look like a series. 

The point I am trying to make is the ideas keep on coming and it’s like a tap I can’t shut off. Do I want it to?-not so much. The stories and characters in my head seem to be fighting for airspace and attention. The two guilty parties hogging the spotlight seem to be GETTING LARRY’D my gay/hetero marriage romance and THE GETAWAY, a romantic suspense plot I have cooked up. These to seem to be pushing any thoughts of DEAD MEN DON’T SWING toward the back of my brain. Ok so my characters are bullies and seem to be having their way with me –what’s a writer to do?  JUST GO WITH IT!

One thought on “Why do any of us write?-Karen Vaughan

  1. Pingback: Why do any of us write?-Karen Vaughan | Cereal Authors

Leave a Reply

