Addicted to writing

Is it possible to be addicted to writing? I would have to say definitely! When I started writing in 2005, I thought I would be happy writing one book. Boy was I wrong! It’s like trying to eat one potato chip and putting the bag away; not possible! Most people who write would probably agree with me. Once you have put pen to paper and created characters and another world out of your imagination, it’s hard to stop there. Your characters and settings take on a life of their own. You created something that people can identify with. Your characters feel real and you feel that you been to the place you have just created.

If Tolkien had felt differently there would not have been hey Lord of the Rings trilogy. The same would go for Agatha Christie and all the other great authors. So if you feel you only have one book in you, don’t give up, keep digging until you find more that you can do with your characters or create new characters and new worlds

Originally I never considered writing a series. It started with DEAD ON ARRIVAL. I had plenty other ideas in mind but my characters kept telling me to write more. They had a lot more to say and the people who read my first book wanted more as well. So here I am three books into my series and working on the fourth. Besides the series, I have written and published DEAD COMIC STANDING. So far it’s a standalone but who knows what could happen if the characters started yelling at me . I am also working on a couple of romance projects and a sci-fi project.
So now can you say Karen Vaughan is addicted to writing? I say a big hell yeah!

 

2 thoughts on “Addicted to writing

  1. Pingback: Addicted to writing | Dellani Oakes

Leave a Reply

