Writing Adventures…by Karina Gioertz

At the beginning of last year I had only just begun my journey into the world of self-publishing and being an Indie Author. Up until that point I hadn’t ever really considered myself an Author of any kind. Mostly my focus had been on writing screenplays and dreaming of the day when I would see my words come to life on the big screen. Writing an entire book, well that seemed like a rather ambitious undertaking. However, after a meek attempt at getting my scripts out there I had to face facts. While I may be a fairly decent writer I am a horrible sales person. Not only am I awkward and uncomfortable when it comes to selling myself as a writer, I also loathe doing it. Basically I would just like be able to write and then magically have people find my work…

The first book I wrote (Welcome To The Half Orphan Club) and self-published was nonfiction and it was nearly twenty years in the making. My mother had self-published her own version of the events following my father’s death shortly before, so she was there to guide me through what turned out to be an incredibly easy process. It was then that I realized, I didn’t need to go around knocking on doors I hadn’t been invited to in the first place…I could open my own doors.

It wasn’t long after, that I decided to pull out some of my scripts and turn them into novels. It took me a while at first to find my groove, but once I got started I stayed pretty busy. Now that last year has coming to an end and a new year has begun, I’ve completed four novels and am working with the fifth.

It’s been exciting watching the reviews come in and hearing from complete strangers that they enjoy my work. In a way, this year has been all about writing and having people magically find my work. Sure, I’ve had to learn my share on marketing, but it’s been more about letting people know that my books exist rather than trying to convince anyone to buy them.

Writing has always been an adventure for me. Imaginary fun that filled the empty spaces…but the adventure isn’t only on paper. It’s part of my life (which is now the life of an Author – eek!), and I for one, kinda love it ;)

 

3 thoughts on “Writing Adventures…by Karina Gioertz

  1. I’ve only had a chance to read one of your books so far, Blood Bound, which was one of my favorite reads last year. I don’t know why I was surprised this story came from your pen. I suppose it was because when I met you on Facebook, I pegged you for a romance writer, which is kind of silly. Then again, you don’t write in only one genre – a versatility I admire. Thanks for sharing your journey. Interesting to learn you started off as a screen writer. I’m 30 minutes into a movie, which was put on the back burner last year. Writing screenplays is different to writing fiction, but being a visual person, I really enjoy it. One of these days I’ll finish that screenplay.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words about my work 🙂 It’s always flattering to receive compliments, but even more so when they come from a fellow writer whom I respect such a great deal! I love writing screenplays and in terms of writing, it comes the most naturally to me. Writing novels requires a little extra effort, but it’s still writing so I’m happy doing it 🙂 I hope you do finish that screenplay! After reading The Tangled Web I can imagine any movie you write would likely have the viewers on the edge of their seats!!

  2. Excellent article, Karina! I have trouble promoting myself too. I am far more likely to toot someone else’s horn and ignore my own.

Leave a Reply

