What’s In A Name by Prudence Hayes

Some people use a pen name and some people don’t. I do. Prudence Hayes is not my true name that my mom gave me. It is merely my pen name. A name I use to give myself the confidence I need to put my books out there. To be honest, if I didn’t have a pen name my words wouldn’t form into books. My stories would still be hidden away in my spiral notebooks under my bed. I can shyly hide behind it and become Prudence for the world to see.
The process of picking it was all quite simple. ‘Prudence’ came from one of my favorite songs, “Dear Prudence” by The Beatles and ‘Hayes’ is my Me-mom’s maiden name. I put them together and it just clicked.
I began using it when I was writing my first book “Back into the Sunshine”. That book was my ‘coming out party’ in a way. You see, my family had no clue that I loved to write. I have always hidden that fact along with my feelings and built up emotions. I wrote that book as a venting mechanism and when I was done I was frightened at the thought of them reading it. So, my plan was to pick a pen name, write it and never speak about the book. No one was going to know about it. And, no one did until I finally worked up the nerve to bite the bullet and tell them.
The name has stuck with me. In the writing world, I will forever be known as Prudence. Every book and story will be branded with my alter ego and I am fine with that because I feel more like Prudence Hayes than the other me most of the time.

16 thoughts on “What’s In A Name by Prudence Hayes

  1. I thought about using a pen name but my first book was dedicated to my mother and I wanted my real name on it. After that, it seemed foolish to go to a pen, not to mention confusing for my readers. I really don’t like my name, especially the nondescript last name, but I went back to my maiden name after my divorce so I am stuck with it. Besides, rather than have an ex’s name on my books, I chose to have the name of my father. Works for me.

  2. Dante Craddock is a pen name. I came about using it for different reasons than yours. I wanted to separate the genres that I am going to write in. So I chose a name that fit into the genre of love stories. The name actually means something to me. It is what I think true love should be. I could tell you what that is, but what would be the point of doing that. It is far better for you to figure it out on your own.

  3. I go by J. S. Bailey as an author because “Jennifer Bailey” is such a common name. Besides, it has a nice ring to it. My real initials are J. A. Bailey but I didn’t like the way that sounded so I took the S from my maiden name and became J. S.

  4. I’m just releasing my first book and as its a boys book I wanted to use my initials rather than my name as I am a woman and don’t want to put anything feminine on the cover. However there is another writer with the same initials and surname and I was approached by her and asked to consider changing. I have. It’s a minefield!

  5. As for myself, I am writing under the pen name of Dana Alan Knight while to the rest of the world I remain just Alan. E.E. “Doc” Smith , added his nickname to his moniker, but I have chosen not to as I hold neither an M.D. nor a PhD. To me, my pen name is simply a stage name to spare me from trying to brand a birth name of no distinctive consequence.

    Who would remember Marion Robert Morrison? But we all know Marion by his stage name, John Wayne. Thanks to Reginald Kenneth Dwight, we all know Marilyn Monroe was born Norma Jeane Mortenson. But who was Reggie? Reginald is far better known as Sir Elton John.

  6. I picked Katya Laroche, and I often regret it, then like it soon after. I’ve always liked the name Katya or Katia, and Laroche is the only family name I don’t despise. I still feel like it sounds like a hookers name most the time. Anything is better than Amber Smith.

  7. I have 2 pen names. 1, the one I’m answering with is my maiden name and the fact that, like half of the babies born between 1970 and 1983, I was blessed with the moniker of Jennifer. And 2 is because I also write erotica and I don’t want some poor 12 year old who wants to read about superheroes to come across a bdsm story! Seems to be the polite thing to do.

Leave a Reply

